Users and Sharing Information

Types of users

Solve provides two ways for people to access the system – as a User, or as a Guest.

Users are your core team members who have access to contact and company records, multiple projects and various reports to manage their work. They will have access to all of Solve’s features.

Guests are clients or subcontractors who will generally access a single project at a time. These individuals are provided with a very simple way to access project information and manage activities related to it.


Creating users

To follow along have the admin open Solve menu > Modify User Accounts

Click Add > Enter their email address > OK

Double-click on the cells to enter the new user’s first and last name

Click on the row to highlight it then > Email login info to send the user instructions on how to access their new account

The user can change the temporary password under Solve menu (top right) > My Account > Set Password. If they don’t change their password the system will remind them to do so after a few days.


Sharing data between Users

To follow along open Solve menu > Set Security Workgroups

As an administrator, you have the power to manage Workgroups. A Workgroup is a place you save Contacts, Companies and Project Blogs so you can share them with a specific set of users. Think of the Workgroups as rooms in a building: there is a room for each department or team in your organization. You can distribute keys, so you control who has access to each room. For example, Tom might have a key to the remote office’s room but not the head-office’s room.

All your users are displayed in columns and Workgroups are organized in rows. From this view, you can see who has access to which Workgroups by selecting the icons listed below each individual’s name.

To grant access to a Workgroup, select the green “modify” icon; to eliminate all accessibility, select the red “none” icon.

As you work with contacts, companies and project blogs set the ownership dropdown located on the top-right corner of the page to designate which workgroup (set of users) has access to this page.

All activities on the page have the same security as the page itself. For example, if a user has access to a particular contact they will also have access to the activities on that contact’s page.


Password management

As an administrator, it’s helpful for you to know the state of a user’s password. There are four different password states:

  1. Set by system Solve generated password for a new user account which is very secure and unknown to all. User is expected to login in via Google only.
  2. Temporary Solve generated password for a new user account which is shown to the admin and can be emailed to the user. The user will be reminded to change their temporary password each time they login.
  3. Set by admin Password reset by the admin on an existing user account which is known only to the admin who can communicate it to the user manually.
  4. Set by user Password reset by the user themselves. The user must know the current password to reset it, only the user knows it.

A password can switch from one state to another depending on who reset it.

A Solve admin can reset any user’s password. Our security protocol requires that admin’s password be reset directly by Norada Customer Care through a secure process.


Creating Guests

Project Blogs are pages where you organize all information related to a project or business transaction. They have a special feature that lets you share the page with anyone called “Publish”. Publishing a page does not make a copy of it, rather it enables access to a simplified view of the page without requiring a Solve account.

You can change the default label of “Project blogs” to something more specific to your business e.g. Properties, Portfolios, Locations, Cases, Jobs etc.

Publish the Project Blog page

Provide each client with a direct link to their project page.

  • Open the Project Blog to publish
  • If you haven’t already done so consider adding your own logo, or better yet, add your client’s logo to the page by clicking “Show Form” and selecting a value in the Logo field
  • Click on the “Publish” button in the top right-corner of the page
  • Enter the recipient’s email address (or contact name to help find it)
  • Set the level of access you want this particular person to have to the entire Project Blog (Read only, Modify, or Add comments only)
  • Click the “Publish” link on the panel
  • Click OK to approve Solve’s standard project blog instructions, or personalize the email with your own message
  • The recipient will receive an email message with their own unique (and secure) web address:

The published version of the page permits guests to view, comment on, or modify the record, while hiding any information that relates to other parts of the system, such as category tags or related-to values. If “modify” access is selected, the guest may only edit activities rather than the fields in the top of the page. Activities you wish to keep private amongst your team can be hidden from the guests published view as well:

Try publishing a Project Blog to your own email address so you can experience the process and features as your client will (you should logout of your Solve account before clicking on the link). Notice anything missing? Your client won’t need to remember another username and won’t need to learn “your” system. They’ll appreciate that!

You can publish a Project Blog to as many users as you need; each one gets their own web address.

Removing access to a published Project Blog

  • Open the Project Blog that was published
  • Click on the “Publish” button in the top right-corner of the page
  • Click on the red “X” to the left of the person you want to remove access to

After introducing this feature we discovered that co-working with your clients in a common workspace can really help improve efficiency; however, you don’t need your clients to be as active or excited about the Project Blog as you are to realize substantial benefits. Simply by publishing a Project Blog you become more accessible and transparent which instills trust, understanding and dramatically improves communication. Your clients are happier because they are more comfortable.

Posted by